Adoption Orientation

Can you believe it’s almost been a year?

This month we’re going to our first Adoption Orientation. I’m not sure what to expect. I’m excited and scared. Of course I’m thrilled that we’re finally taking the first step toward adopting, but I’m also worried that:

  • People will think we’re wierd (social workers, other parents, etc.)
  • No one will choose us to parent their child.
  • All the paperwork will dampen our desire. I hear there are soooooo many steps to finally be on the waiting list.

I guess there’s nothing to do but move forward and take whatever comes. *sigh*

One thought on “Adoption Orientation

  1. Best of luck to you as you start your journey!

    We started the process in August and although there was a TON of paperwork, I was super motivated to get through it. We were approved with our agency in March. I’m a lot like you, I worry that no one will want to choose us. I just have to keep reminding myself that it will happen in God’s time. We’ve also considered moving on to Foster to Adopt if things don’t work out with us getting selected.

    Hope that you have a great experience at your orientation!

Leave a Reply

