Baby Consultants

In the Sunday Los Angeles Times there was an article about “baby consultants”. I’d never heard of them before, but I as I read I really started to like the idea. As I understand it, they will help families welcoming babies (there were event two mentions of adoption!) by helping the family choose what types of equipment they may need (are there lots of hills in your community? They can help you choose the right stroller), save a few dollars on said equipment (the story mentioned a family that kept finding “green” cribs for about $1,000 and the baby consultant found one for $380), and generally prepare for adding a new member to the family.

There is even a new organization that trains them. The International Maternity Institute will vet baby consultants in Certified Baby Planner Graduates, Certified Greenproofer Graduates, and coming soon Certified Sleep Consultants.

I can’t decide if I’m for it or against it. On the one hand people have been having babies without baby consultants since forever …. but with so many families having an overwhelming number of choices in everything from diapers and cribs to low VOC paint and “green” baby clothes it can be a bit, well, overwhelming.

The prices aren’t bad. My only gripe is that I wish the search function was more complete. I’d like to be able to find one that had experience with adoption and was a person of color. I know that babies are babies and families are families, but I’d like someone that I could really relate to. As Denene over at MyBrownBaby.com says:

Of course, I read “What To Expect” from cover to cover anyway, because understanding what would happen to my body during pregnancy was necessary. But when it came to the experience—the true revelation of what to expect as I brought a black child into this world—I knew better than to consult “What To Expect,” or any other mainstream (read: white) pregnancy or motherhood book for that matter.

 


Leave a Reply

