Riverside County Foster Adoption Orientation

We just atteneded the Riverside County Foster Adoption Orientation meeting last week at the DPSS office on the corner of La Sierra and Magnolia. It was from 9am to 2pm and it was way better than I thought it would be! Lol

Both facilitators explained the process thoroughly and answered all of our questions. The process seems like it takes a long time, but it’s not as hard as we thought it would be. There are two different processes to complete:
State – licenses the home to be safe for children
County – vets the family and places children in the home.

We also learned that there are several “types” of kids that are hard to place and because of that, families that want those kids can be “fast-tracked” through the system. There are some groups that was expected .. you know the “medically fragile” and whatnot but I was not ready to hear that “African-American” kids were “special”. What! I started tearing up a bit thinking about the fact that Black kids were hard to get rid of. No one wanted them? No one wanted us? I didn’t expect that. *breath* Both facilitators were Black women so I really took it as a statement of fact, but it made me feel sad none the less.

Next steps:

  • Turn in county application
  • Turn in state application.
  • Have interview for state.
  • Have interview for county.
  • Attend 33 hours of training (PRIDE training).
  • Officially be licensed by the state.
  • Home study (ask you tons of questions).
  • Wait to be matched with a baby.

The next set of PRIDE classes don’t start until August and take 11 weeks so we won’t be matched until November at the EARLIEST! We have been buying baby stuff for a couple years now, so Imagine how happy I was to hear that state licensing has to see a bed for each child. In my mind that says I need nursery and it’s time to go wild! Lol

I also hear about an organization named Children’s Bureau, but so far I haven’t been able to find it online. If anyone has information about it, please let me know.

One thought on “Riverside County Foster Adoption Orientation

  1. Congrats on your decision to adopt I hope everything happens quickly for you! My Dh and I might be going this route soon as well. How long did they tell you the process takes? Do you know if they only do one one set of pride classes or if they go all through the year?

Leave a Reply

