Adopt a “Regular” Black Kid

I saw this video today on Facebook. It really made me crack up! I know that each family’s adoption journey is their own, but I often wonder why more families (especially families of color) don’t complete a domestic adoption. I thought I’d post this video in that spirit!

The feedback about this video has been that the video is making fun of Black children. I read it completely the other way: that the video makes fun of the white adoptive parents that are clueless about American Black children.

What do you think?

 

2 thoughts on “Adopt a “Regular” Black Kid

  1. OMG…I don’t know if that is the funniest thing I’ve seen all week, or if it’s horrific! Yes, it is definately making fun of the white parents. I’m going to have to share this with my “transracial group”. And, BTW, I know a mom or two that could use that booklet! (in case you don’t know, I’m white, have 2 bio teens, & a three yr old princess from Ethiopia, & spend a lot of time reading & thinking about race) ciao!

Leave a Reply

