Overheard on Twitter … Vaccines

Did you get your                            kids vaccinated?

I was trolling on Twitter this morning when I came across these interesting tweets:

I can’t lie. I thought that point of a vaccine was avoid getting infected. I didn’t realize that the point of the vaccine was to get a less lethal strain of an infection. In grad school one of my classes did a research study on why families chose, or did not choose, to have their child vaccinated. We found out that some do, some don’t and some choose to have vaccination spread out over a different schedule. We learned about how some people think that if everyone else is vaccinated then you don’t need to be and we learned that some people think that you’re adding to the possible medical danger in the world if you’re not infected – you could be the one that brings whatever disease it is back to everyone else.

I didn’t realize what a problem that was until this morning. I thought that if you were vaccinated you had a get-out-of-jail-free card. It turns out that if you’re vaccinated you may still end up in jail … you’ll just be in minimum security instead of maximum. Hmmm ….

That has me wondering … would anyone care to share how and why they chose to vaccinate or not vaccinate their kids?

#BeingAParentIsHard

2 thoughts on “Overheard on Twitter … Vaccines

  1. We do not vaccinate. I began researching vaccines primarily because it seemed odd to me that I could not give my baby milk, peanut butter, or berries until he was 1-year old, but I could have several vaccines injected into him at birth, 2-months old, 4-months old, 6-months old, and 12-months old. Then I found out what is in those vaccines. Ultimately, I decided that the vaccines present more risks than the diseases they supposedly prevent. Most of the diseases are mostly harmless to most people. Of course, there are always exceptions. However, the long-term effects of the vaccine ingredients, many of which are known to be toxic, some of which are known carcinogens, are not known.
    I also don’t subscribe to the theory that if you’re vaccinated, you get a lesser case of the disease, and if you’re not, you’ll get the full-blown case. Both my sister and I got the lightest cases of chicken pox, but neither of us was vaccinated for it. (The vax came out much, much later.) My father didn’t even remember having chicken pox, so was sent out of the house while we were “sick.” Decades later, he got shingles, which meant he must have had chicken pox at some point. I think what type of case of a disease you get has a lot more to do with your biology and how healthy you are to begin with.
    My favorite book on the subject is “What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Children’s Vaccines” by Dr. Stephanie Cave.

    • Thanks for suggesting that book. Thinking about vaccines is pretty scary! I have no idea what to do so I’m glad I have a bit of time to read up about it. I also have been wondering how much say I’ll have in the process anyway. Since we’re doing foster-adopt the kids may already have been vaccinated.

Leave a Reply

