There is No “Perfect” Parent

“We screwed up our kids our way, you screw up your kids your way”

I just read this comment on a parenting site and I LOVE it! Lol To me, it means that there is no right way to parent. We all have our hang-ups, unreasonable expectations, and strange attachments and that’s okay. As long as you’re not physically, emotionally, and/or sexually abusing your kids your a) doing the best you can and b) probably making a LOT of mistakes along the way! Lol

“Mistakes are what make things perfect sometimes” – N.O.R.E., rapper

One year I think my mom was too broke to buy us holiday ornaments for our tree. I don’t know for sure because that year was one of our best years ever … but I suspect because while we had a great time we never celebrated that way again. What made our time together so great? My mom had us make our own ornaments out of felt and construction paper while she made us popcorn balls and we sang funny songs. Knowing how much felt and thread cost, I would assume our whole evening of creativity and play probably cost about $3, but we had a great time and to this day it’s still one of my favorite holiday memories.

Sometimes it’s not about what’s happening (lost a job, little money, etc.) but more about how you help your family respond to it.

Leave a Reply

