Domestic Violence, Muslims and Baltimore

“Fifty percent of all homeless women and children in America are fleeing domestic violence.”

I read about Muslimat Al-Nisaa Home Center on the 30Mosquesin30Days site.

“I was in a different country and didn’t know the language,” she said in Urdu to me. “I had no family members here to help me. He forced me to stay in a basement, I was beaten, I was tortured and I was abused. I had no way communicating with my family for help.”

And …

My hand trembles as I scribble in my notepad these women’s stories. I’m reminded of all the abuse I learned about growing up regarding several women in my family. As Saima tells me her story, I can’t help but think about the time as a kid I pulled bloody shards of glass out the back of one relative after her husband pushed her through a table. Or the time one woman begged me to make her laugh because it was the only thing stopping her from crying about all the fiery red belt marks that streaked across her soft skin.

The center was designed to assist homeless, Muslim females between the ages of 18 and 64. I’m not sure how much this has to do with adoption, but I wanted to put it out there, that there are people willing to help people in domestic violence or homeless situations. Check out the rest of the article here.

If you’re considering placing your child for adoption because you’re homeless … there are other options. There are people that will help you. Once such place is Muslimat Al-Nisaa Home Center.

Visit Maslimat Al-Nisaa Home Center on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

