Peanuts and Death

I just read this article over at SoLatina.com and it scared the beejeezus out of me.

I called the doctor and got the answering service. I left a detailed message and my husband said to get my son’s coat on and take him to the hospital. While I went to get his coat, my phone rang and it was the doctor. All I said was hello and the voice on the other end immediately said, “Mrs. McCrea, hang up with me and call 911 right now!” I started to shake and told my husband to call 911. I turned to look at my baby and his face was swollen. I couldn’t even recognize him. It truly looked like something you would see in a weird sci-fi movie. I was in disbelief. I ran my son to the bathroom and thought in my head that maybe I could wash it all away, so I started washing him up. As I heard the sirens closing in, my baby was lethargic. He had difficulty breathing and he was so quiet. A police officer was in my home and after he looked at my son and me, his face looked as sad as I felt. He said we needed to take him to the hospital. The EMT came in and my son began to throw up. I was crying as the EMT walked me to the ambulance. I was holding my son very tight. I heard the EMT ask me, “Has your son ever gone into anaphylaxis before?” I replied I don’t even know what that is! He said, “OK, Mrs. McCrea, your son is in anaphylaxis. I need to give him epinephrine. This will help open up his airways.”

The Mayo Clinic describes it this way

Peanut allergy is common, especially in children. Peanut allergy symptoms can range from a minor irritation to a life-threatening reaction (anaphylaxis). For some people with peanut allergy, even tiny amounts of peanuts can cause a serious reaction.

Medicinenet.com further explains

  • Peanut and tree nut (pecans, walnuts, almonds, etc.) allergy can be a serious condition that affects approximately three million Americans, or 1.1 percent of the population.
  • Peanuts are the leading cause of severe food allergic reactions, followed by shellfish, fish, tree nuts and eggs. (Food Allergy Network)

I just thought I’d put it out there. I had no idea that a kid could go from eating a peanut butter and jelly sandwich to being carted away in an ambulance over a peanut allergy. Though most kids don’t die from contact, it is really dangerous. Check with your pediatrician to see if your kid is allergic to anything, especially peanuts.

Leave a Reply

