The Nursery is Coming Along

We are no where near having a baby, but working on the nursery helps me stay focused and gives me something to do. Since we enjoy thrifting, and I hope you do too, I thought I’d share how we’ve begun building our nursery.

Found this dresser at a local thrift store for $5.

When I first saw it I thought it was a piece of crap … but then … my imagination started to take over.

Got some paint from Lowes (“Ocean Depth”, $10), a roller ($2), a paint-catcher-thingee ($0.88) and some new pulls ($1.50 each x 4 = $6) and set to work.

I wasn’t sure what color to paint everything so all the pieces sat in the spare room for a few days. When we went to Lowe’s He ended up seeing “Ocean Depth” and thinking about making an ocean themed room.

This is what the dresser looked like after painting and new pulls.

I got to work on the first piece and started thinking about the way the ocean’s waves move. After one coat of paint I could still see the “waves” from the grain in the wood particle board sticker. I thought it was pretty cool so I didn’t put another coat on it.

Found this spare piece of board and painted it the same color.

Had to do two coats on this piece of board because it looked pretty grimy before I painted it.

Found this really cute crib at a thrift store for $20. We checked the brand and model number online before we purchased it. It retails for about $100 at Wal-Mart and other stores! Whoo hoo!

We wanted something that wasn’t fussy looking, that was dark wood, and that was fixed sided. Can you believe we found this at the thrift store! Here’s a link to the Storkcraft – Sheffield 2-in-1 Fixed-Side Convertible Crib, Espresso. We brought it home, checked it out, made sure the slats were safe, and when we felt comfortable we put it in the baby’s room.

Found the board, and the silver thingees, bookcase was $3 from thrift store, black drawers are from the Dollar Tree, horse was $10 at thrift store, all toys and books are from the thrift store. Pig was $4 at Marshall’s.

I thought that everything came together pretty well. I had been buying stuff for about two years (there’s more stuff in the closet) and I wasn’t sure what it was going to look like all together, but it looks pretty good.

Here’s how it’s all coming together. I’d like some seaweed or maybe a porthole to complete our ocean them.

We’re not done yet, but I’d say we’re off to a good start!

Leave a Reply

