Cloth Diapers

I read this article on OffBeatMama.com and I started thinking about cloth diapers. The author makes the argument that each disposable diaper costs about $0.20 each so using cloth diapers a few times a week with save her $86 over three months. Not too shabby.

I don’t think I’ll ever do cloth full-time, for a handful of reasons. Disposables are a lot more convenient when we’re out and about, as well as overnight. There’s also the question of whether I’ll keep doing cloth once the baby starts eating solid food. I’m not so sure I’ll be dying to launder Serious Business myself. But even if we only get 3 months out of these 12 diapers, we’ll be saving 540 disposables from the landfill and about $86 cash. I’m going to consider that a huge win.

Read the whole article here.

I don’t know too much about cloth diapers. Do they come in sizes? Would it be smarter to get some cloth diapers because you don’t know what age the child you’re matched with will be? Will your adoption social worker think you’re weird if you go with cloth diapers?

Would have you used cloth diapers? What was your experience like?

3 thoughts on “Cloth Diapers

  1. We use gDiapers, which we love! But they’re really no cheaper than disposables. They’re just far more environmentally friendly. Also, for us, they’re more practical than hardcore cloth diapering. Basically, they’re a cloth cover with a flushable insert. You can also use cloth inside instead of the flushie, which I do from time to time. A lot of people do. I like the flushies for nap time and bedtime, because they’re more absorbent. Also, when out and about, flushies can be flushed or tossed, while cloth cannot.
    My friend Shaina uses and makes her own pocket diapers.
    Some diapers are one-size, like my friend Shaina’s. She makes them with snaps so they can go from newborn to age 5. (Not that 5-year olds usually need diapers. She just decided to see if her diapers would fit on her 5-year old, and they did.)
    Cloth diapering can be like a religion. Being a newbie can be very confusing. The best advice is to get one of everything – or anything you think you’d like – and try it all before choosing one brand.
    No one ever asked us about how we would be diapering our kids.
    I really hate disposables. They take 500 years to break down. One diaper. My daughter has at least 8 diaper changes per day. If she were in disposables, that would be 35 per month, 420 per year, at least. From one kid. Disposable diapers are awful for the environment.
    Yeah… that was longer than I intended it to be. Can you tell I have opinions on this subject?

  2. The gDiapers http://www.gdiapers.com/ sound like such a cool compromise. The messy part can be washed or thrown away depending on which liner you put inside (and they have cute designs). I love it! Thanks so much for sharing this resource. You always have such good ideas. =)

Leave a Reply

