Do You Post Images of Your Kid?

Most people say that I’m a prude. I don’t think I am. I just don’t see why everyone on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. must know everything about my life as soon as it happens. I came across an article on “offline parenting” that I absolutely LOVED and it sparked this post.The basic premise of the article is:

Amid concerns about cyberbullying, cyberstalking, data collection and public scrutiny, they’re worried about safety, privacy, and believe it’s wrong to give their children an online presence before they’re old enough to decide if they even want one.

In case the article didn’t convince you, here are four reasons I don’t think folks should post images of their children:

#1 There are perverts out there. He tells me about working at MySpace.com and having to report people to the police for printing images of children, ejaculating on the image, and posting that image of a photo of a child covered in semen on the internet.

#2 The internet is forever. Once you post something it never really goes away. Pages are archived. People download images to their harddrives. Something “innocent” may come back to bite your kid in the  ….

#3 Your child should be able to have privacy too. I don’t think that too many parents ask their kids which images they want up. Parents usually post images that they think are “cute” or will illicit a giggle. The problem is that no one asked that kid if they wanted to have their image plastered all over social media websites.

#4 No one knows. Since the internet and social media are evolving into things that we couldn’t even imagine ten years ago, we don’t know what it will be like ten years from now. I would rather err on the side of caution.

 

Leave a Reply

