Book: Being Adopted, The Lifelong Search for Self

What an AMAZING book!

I’ve been reading, Being Adopted: The Lifelong Search for Self. You can tell that it’s a bit dated, but it’s a really good read. It details different age groups and shares how adoption might influence an adoptee at each age. It starts with newborn and goes aaaaallll the way to up to retirement age. I LOVE this book!

I thought that I was pretty clear about how adoption might affect a kid, but reading this book … I didn’t know as much as I thought I had. PLUS, it never occurred to me that as an adult might still be dealing with these issues.

The one thing I will say is that many of the issues had to deal with the kid not knowing about their biological family. Having an open adoption might help with some of the things that were mentioned in the book. Anyhoo …. I found the book used at the dollar book store and I’m so glad that I did. Get it, read it, use it to have discussions with your family.

=)

 

Leave a Reply

