Dia de los Muertos – Adoption Edition

Remembering my mom and grandma today.

Today is Dia de los Muertos. A Mexican tradition where families gather to remember their dead relatives. It’s usually celebrated by going to the graves of our loved ones and cleaning them up and leaving flowers. You’ll see many folks walking around with skulls on t-shirts, toys, etc. It’s to remember that death is closely linked with life.

One of the few regrets in my life is that my kids won’t be able to grow up with my mom (she’s so funny!, every political and always willing to help someone) and my grandma (she’s the backbone of our family) because we waited too long.

Today, I’m remembering my mom and grandma. Both are dead. Both are missed. Sometimes thinking about them is what pushed me to move forward on another travel adventure or push forward with another BHAG for the business. Tomorrow is not promised. Live your life now. Tell your people that you love them now.

As Kanye said, “go ‘head and tell em’ People never get the flowers while they can still smell em'”.

 

 

One thought on “Dia de los Muertos – Adoption Edition

Leave a Reply

