Today’s Adoption Adventure: Health Screenings UPDATE

Our arms after blood was drawn.

As you know, we went to the doctor today to have our little paper filled out, for our adoption from foster care, saying that we are not gonna drop dead anytime in the near future.

This morning I was in bed crying because I knew that I was going to have to get blood drawn. I’m not a fan of anyone sticking needles in any part of my body. We went in and had our weight checked and blood pressure checked (mine was 125 over 60, I think) before being told to wait in the waiting room … again.

Damn, I think I need to change my diet a bit …

Then we went in and had our chat with the Dr. He has a great bedside manner and immediately put me at ease. The urine and breathing and the questions and whatnot went well and then came … the moment of truth.

We had to get our blood drawn. He is a sport. He’s had his blood drawn on multiple occassions and doesn’t seem to be bothered by it. I, on the other hand, abhor needles. I knew it was my turn and I tried to sit in the little chair (I promise I did) but I couldn’t help myself and I started to weep.

The woman that was going to draw the blood obviously noticed my discomfort and set out to help me. She told me to go into a room that has the little bed-thingee and lie down. He was standing by my side letting me clutch his shirt. I lie down and put the blanket that I brought with me over my head. My cries increased. He said comforting things to make me feel better. The woman put a tighter ropey-chord thing on my arm and (He says) she changed needles. I started wailing as the woman plunged the needle into my arm but … actually … it wasn’t that bad. It was more surprising than painful. Good job, lady!

After it was over He did two things that make me love him even more:

#1 He told me that he was proud of me for going through all of this for our new edition. He knows how much of a fraidy-cat I am. Coming from him, that made me feel really good.

#2 He told me that I did a great job. I know he was lying (or maybe my hysterics were minor THIS time! Lol) but it really made me feel good. He’s always so supportive of me. I never have to worry about him making fun of my fears, telling me that they are unfounded or making fun of me for having my fears.

We have to go back Wednesday to get our TB tests read and get our cholesterol readings (which was an EXTRA $30 each). We are one step closer to getting a kid.

=)

BTW …. I love me some him …

Long time ago …

2 thoughts on “Today’s Adoption Adventure: Health Screenings UPDATE

Leave a Reply

