Thinking Through Godparents

He was talking with a friend from college and the topic of godparents was brought up. This friend mentioned that they wouldn’t mind being a godparent for our potential child.

Hmmm ….

I grew up with an AMAZING godmother that I truly consider a second mom. She was always around to consult with. She was totally supportive of all of my hair-brained schemes. She loved me, supported me, yelled at me, hugged me, and told me about myself when I needed it. Needless to say, choosing godparents for our kids is a HUGE deal to me.

Here are some things that I’ve been considering:

Can you have more than one set of godparents?

How do you choose who will take care of your kids if you die?

Are there any important things that I should consider?

Are there any things that I should not focus on?

 

How did you choose the godparents of your child(ren)?

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Through Godparents

  1. My best friend in high school got pregnant during our senior year. I became a godmother at the age of 17. I was given a directive that in case something happens, I was to contact a long list of people to take are of the child. My friend didn’t want to upset anybody in the family but still wanted to make sure her child was taken care of. My goddaughter just turned 18 so I’m “off the hook” but lended some advice on picking colleges and such. I haven’t seen her in 12 years.

    We recently adopted and decided to write a will. We named my brother as guardian should something happen to my husband and me. We chose him for several reasons. First, I wanted somebody in the family as friends tend to flow in and out of my life. By being family, kinship adoption is so much easier too. Next, my brother has income and can financially take care of our daughter. He’s young and mentally stable. My bother is in an interracial marriage expecting their first child. My daughter is multi-racial. So if something happened to us, my daughter would be raised in a family that would not have a huge learning curve in dealing with issues that transracial families encounter.

    I named my brother a guardian (the lawyer recommended naming only one person to make it easier when taking charge of the estate) but my daughter also has a godmother. The godmother is there to provide guidance, gifts, stories of mom from way back in high school, etc. She’s single, in and out of employment and is taking care of her infirm mother so adding a child to the mix would not be a good idea. But I wanted her in my daughter’s life. So I guess in my case, I have a Godmother and a named guardian.

    • Thank you so much for writing such a thoughtful response! It never really occurred to me that a kid could have godparents and a different named guardian. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You’ve given me lots to think about.

Leave a Reply

