Foster Care, Santa Claus and Lies

There is no way that I can adopt a kid from foster care that is old enough to talk.

I was just on the adoption boards reading about a foster mother that was asked by her foster child why Santa never found them before? The child asked if it was because the child was bad?

Most of the advice on the board was about how to lie some more to the child to make them feel better. I’m not for lying to children. There is no Santa Claus. Anyhoo … this is more about one person’s response that if the biological parents ARE telling the kid(s) that there is a Santa Claus then you can’t tell the kids the truth or the birth parents could get upset with you. Really? REALLY?!

It’s obvious to me that I cannot be around a child that can speak because once the parent finds out that I don’t believe in god, don’t lie to children, and have little respect for authority I’m going to be in big trouble! Lol

The adoption worker asked that we be honest with her, so at least this will help us be specific! A child 0 – 1 year old it is! Lol

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Foster Care, Santa Claus and Lies

  1. Oh yeah, we don’t do Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny, and, although we do “play” Tooth Fairy, Jackson knows it’s us. I’ve never understood lying about those things. I was devastated and felt betrayed when I found out Santa Claus isn’t real.
    Jesus Christ was a real person though. Whether you believe he was the Son of God or not, he did exist.

    • Some things are cute and fun as games. I’m glad to know that not all parents lie to their children incessantly! Lol

      On the Jesus thing … hmmm … obviously I wasn’t there so I can’t ever really “know” but here’s what I’ve dug up about a person living in that time named Jesus http://www.nobeliefs.com/exist.htm

      Is there a scientific link you can send me? I’d love to read a different perspective.

      • I don’t have links, but I have books.
        Back story: I used to be Catholic. During Lent, instead of giving something up, I would read books about religion, spirituality, religious history, etc. For example, did you know that the Pope voted himself infallible? It’s true. That’s something you don’t learn in Catholic school.
        So anyway, one Lent, I read all about the historical Jesus. Two books that I still have are “Jesus Before Christianity” and “Jesus: A Vision”. I always wanted to know more about Jesus the man and the time in which he lived.

  2. Pingback: We Don’t Do Santa « The Chittister Family

  3. Really interesting post! I jumped over from the Chittister Children blog. I’m a social worker, and I’m also a fan of not lying to kids. Goodness, kids in foster care, especially, have been through so much. Why lie to them? There’s probably a way to be tactful and honest at the same time.

    But why do you to bring the Tooth Fairy into this!?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

