Crying at Dog Groomers

pitbull_bath

So … today’s adventure was taking our pup for his first professional grooming. I had called around and found out that the whole experience would take about an hour. I kept calling until I found a place that would let me wait with him.

When I arrived for his appointment I found out that we’d have to leave him for 3 hours! Since He didn’t seem concerned about leaving him there I agreed to return in three hours … but something happened as soon as I saw them hook on the temporary collar: I got the worst feeling in my stomach.

Black-Woman-Worried

I tried to be brave since the pup looked fine. I walked out of the building and had a complete meltdown. I mean … I was standing in the parking lot crying like a baby. Leaning on Him like something horrible had happened. I have no idea what the people in the parking lot imagined had happened … anyhoo …

We went out and ran errands, but I kept imagining our sweet little pup caged like an animal … well … you know what I mean. I called after an hour to make sure that they wouldn’t muzzle him. I told them that if he became upset they should call me and I’d come pick him up. I went on with our errands and didn’t get a call.

pitbull

After about two hours I thought I’d just show up and make sure that things were going well, but on the way there they called us.

pitbull_smile

When we picked him up he seemed happy to see us. I was relieved at first that he seemed well, but then I became paranoid. Maybe he was happy to see us because he hadn’t been treated well. Ugh.

As a kid my mom was pretty limited about whose house we could visit and even more limited about whose home to stay overnight at. Now I see why! If I’m this concerned about a pup getting a bath then I can only imagine what I’ll be like with our kid being somewhere without us …

It’s funny how I wasn’t worried at all and the feelings just overwhelmed me. I used to think that parents were being ridiculous to feel this way. After this experience I think I’ll be a bit more kind in my thoughts.

Shut_Up

Leave a Reply

