Cursing Is Good for Children

ComicBookCursing

My mother not only swore in front of us, she allowed us to curse, as necessary, to express ourselves. We couldn’t curse at someone (F*ck you, you piece of sh*t!) but we could curse to express our feelings (This is some b*llsh*t!) when appropriate (no other adults were around). Growing up like that taught me that 1) there is a time and a place for everything and 2) sometimes you’ve just gotta let it out! Lol

I have an amazing vocabulary and have always spoken well. I also curse like a sailor. I don’t mean I curse when I’m upset. I mean that I curse when I’m happy (Ay! Did you see that f***ing thing? It was HUGE! Whoo hoo!), I curse when I’m sad (Wow. I can’t believe I’ll never talk politics with my mom again. She was on her sh*t. She was amazing.), and I curse when I’m confused (What do you mean you don’t sell it anymore? That’s some b*llsh*t!).

He wasn’t raised like that at all. His parents still apologize to me when they let a curse slip (Oh! Excuse me. *sheepish grin*), so we are not at all on the same page about what we’ll allow in our home. I read this article about why cursing is good and I had to share it! Not only does it “prove” my theory that cursing is 1) normal 2) healthy, it also furthers my ideology that cursing helps to create a whole individual.

Number three is my favorite:

It’s been suggested (and debated endlessly) that people who swear are more honest and trustworthy.

Yeah! We’re very honest. Honest to a fault some might say, but would you prefer we lied? Anyhoo …  what are the rules at your house? Do you curse around your children? What happens when they curse around you?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cursing Is Good for Children

  1. I think cursing is lazy. Now, to be clear, I do it. Before I had kids, I swore like a sailor, but, of course, only in certain situations. Because I knew that swearing was not polite, I did not swear in class (high school/college), at work, when meeting new people, at church, when children were present, etc. You’d be surprised how many people never seem to learn this these days.

    I think anyone needs to learn how to express his or her emotions in actual words before resorting to swearing. It’s a lot easier, and more immediately satisfying, to call someone a “motherf—–“, but ultimately, it’s important to understand why you think he’s a “motherf—–” and what to do about it.

    That said, I allow myself one swear word in front of my son – dammit. And, once he learned about when it’s appropriate, he was allowed to use it at home too. I do occasionally forget and swear, but again, we’ve talked about the appropriateness, or lack thereof.

    • Oh I can tell you EXACTLY why he is a mf! Lol Cursing, to me, is just another word. I don’t hold any words to a higher, or lower, standard than any other word. *shrugs*

  2. I love this post! I, too, curse like a sailor and was allowed to do so once I was an older child. But we do try to watch it in front of my boyfriend’s son (he lives with us full-time and is 15), only because the world is much different these days than it was when I was a kid…but, not gonna lie, now that he’s older, the words slip out much easier 😉

    Pregnant with my first and not sure how cursing will go with this one. I’m predicting it’s first word will be sh*t

    Love the blog!

    😉

    xo,
    Katie
    hellolittlebean.com

    • I’m super sad that I haven’t been able to log into my account until now … but I’m kinda happy because now when I checked your blog I was able to see your little cutie-patootie, Lark! I’ll keep checking back to see what her first words are! Lol

Leave a Reply

