Toddler Duvet and Sham …. or Take THAT Pottery Barn!

IMG_20140310_150434I’m SUPER excited so I thought I’d share. I saw toddler duvet and sham at Pottery Barn that I liked (http://www.potterybarnkids.com/products/organic-cotton-toddler-duvet-cover-navy/?cm_src=AutoRel) but I didn’t want to pay $40 for the duvet and $20 for the sham … soooo … I decided to make them!

I went to the thrift store and found a 100% cotton Ralph Lauren full sized sheet for $3.

20140228_125823

I put the comforter inside the folded sheet to get the measurements right. I left about 3 inches at the top and about 6 inches at the bottom for the hems.

I put the comforter inside the folded sheet to get the measurements right. I left about 3 inches at the top and about 6 inches at the bottom for the hems.

I sewed everything before I dyed it.

I sewed everything before I dyed it.

Here's the pillow sham in 3 pieces. Oe big one for the front and 2 small pieces so that back can overlap and hold hte pillow in.

Here’s the pillow sham in 3 pieces. Oe big one for the front and 2 small pieces so that back can overlap and hold hte pillow in.

The pillow sham is done.

The pillow sham is done.

The duvet is done.

The duvet is done.

Take everything home to dye it. The blue is the comforter.

Take everything home to dye it. The blue is the comforter.

I had some navy dye already and I bought some black dye for $1.50 (I wanted it really dark) and dyed it in my kitchen.

I used one bottle of navy and one box (powder) of black. I mixed them together in the pot, let it boil and then put the dry cloth in a little bit at a time.

I used one bottle of navy and one box (powder) of black. I mixed them together in the pot, let it boil and then put the dry cloth in a little bit at a time.

Make sure to let the water touch every part of the material and stir it around constantly.

Make sure to let the water touch every part of the material and stir it around constantly.

You might need to help! Lol Stirring for an hour is ....   =(  Then we let it sit on the stove with the heat off for another hour.

You might need to help! Lol Stirring for an hour is …. =(
Then we let it sit on the stove with the heat off for another hour.

Once we took it off the stove, we rinsed it in the yard with cool water, wrung it out and put it in the dryer. It did turn the inside of the dryer blue for a few days, but the dye hasn’t come off on the other clothes so … .

Anyhoo … here is is, the moment you’ve been waiting for!

The duvet and pillow sham on the bed!

The duvet and pillow sham on the bed!

Not bad for about $10 and two hours!

$3 – sheet from thrift store (100% cotton so the dye will take)

$4 – Rit dye – navy from JoAnne’s

$1.50 – Rit dye – black. I bought the powder and had a 40% coupon

___________

$8.50

 

I still need to make the sheet set and a decorative pillow, but I’m off to a great start!

4 thoughts on “Toddler Duvet and Sham …. or Take THAT Pottery Barn!

    • Thank you! I can’t wait to do the sheets! I almost want to iron everything and stage it just so … the Pottery Barn photo was so cute!

Leave a Reply

