Still Dealing With Property Management Company

assertive1I returned from Peru with a new attitude. I’ve talked about the struggles that we’re having with our property management company here and here saying that they are okay with us adopting from foster care. He has been telling me that I need to be more firm. I have been telling Him that I was looking for a win-win solution that would allow all  parties to get what they need while not being confrontational. Ha!

First I was told that they wouldn’t sign my letter because they wanted to do a property inspection.

Then I was told that I needed to get insurance. I already have business insurance that covers any place that I rent and foster care insurance. When I submitted that information I was told that it was the wrong kind of insurance.

I asked what kind of insurance and they told me liability insurance.

I asked what type of liability insurance I needed to get and how much coverage I needed. I was told that my agent would know.

I asked my agent and he asked me how he would know what they wanted? I told him that that’s what they told me. He suggested renter’s insurance with $300,000 worth of coverage.

I submitted that and I was told that #1 I needed to add the home owner’s name but they wouldn’t tell me what name I needed to add #2 I needed $1,000,000 worth of coverage.

My agent told me that renter’s insurance only goes up to $500,000. He also can’t understand why they want this coverage to protect against an adoption. Me neither.  *shrugs*  I asked the property management company to set up a call with their attorney (that’s keeps asking for this ridiculousness) and my agent so we can get everything squared away … .they said, “No”. Actually, they said:

No need for call….we go on our attorneys recommendation.  We need a $1,000,000 liability policy.

I sent this email:

What do i need to do to turn in my 30 day notice? There is no renter`s policy that goes more than a half million dollars. It isn’t necessary. None of this was in the lease i signed. I can`t move forward with my adoption because of this. I need to find place to live that will be okay with my adoption.

Is there a form i need to fill out? I can be out by April 30th.

I get this response:

we will ask the owner if he will accept $500,000.

I guess being assertive does the trick. I’ve been going through this for a month. I really hope that this is the end of this crap.

 

 

Leave a Reply

