A Raisin in the Sun

A Raisin in the Sun is coming, back, to Broadway!

Raisin-in-the-Sun-4187929_origFor those that don’t know. A Raisin in the Sun is the story of a $10,000 insurance payment that could mean either financial salvation or personal ruin for this family. Walter (wants to be rich and will do whatever he has to), Ruth (is happy with the current situation) and their son Travis, along with Walter’s mother Lena (Mama) (wants to buy a house and pay for Beneatha’s education) and sister Beneatha (in college and has to choose between an assimilated suitor or an African suitor) live together and each is trying to do the best that they can with the available options.

From Wikipedia:

A Raisin in the Sun is a play by Lorraine Hansberry that debuted on Broadway in 1959.[1] The title comes from the poem “Harlem” (also known as “A Dream Deferred[2]) by Langston Hughes. The story is based upon a black family’s experiences in the Washington Park Subdivision of Chicago‘s Woodlawn neighborhood.

The most famous version was probably the movie with Sidney Poitier.

raisin-sun-sidney-poitierThe most recent was on Broadway with

Raisin_in_the_Sun_2008I wanted to see this one with Phylicia Rashad, but I didn’t want to see Sean Combs so I just left it alone.

and now …. with Denzel Washington (John Q., Malcolm X) as Walter Lee Younger, Sophie Okenedo (Hotel Rwanda, Skin) as his wife, Ruth, Anika Noni Rose (Dream Girls) as his sister Beneatha. LaTanya Richardson Jackson stepped in to play Lena (“mama”) after 78-year-old Diahann Carroll determined the Broadway schedule to be to grueling.

This one I’d like to see. The show starts April 23rd and runs for 14 weeks.

Buy your tickets now!

 

2 thoughts on “A Raisin in the Sun

  1. I read this play in college. I loved it! We’re moving soon, to a town with more theatre and some built-in baby-sitters. I’m hoping I’ll get to see more plays & musicals. Maybe even “Raisin.”

    • I still remember by first theatre experience. My mother took me to see “Mama I Want to Sing”. We had matching dresses and jewelry. I’ve loved the theatre ever since! I hope you get to see tons more plays, musicals, operas and the like! =)

Leave a Reply

