Elimination Communition New Position

Adventures-in-the-Elemination-CommunicationSince I’ve been on the elimination communication (or infant potty training) adventure (he’s four months old) I’ve been putting him on the pot facing me. I imagine how an adult would sit on the toilet and tried to mimic that.

In the last few days he’ll defecate in the pot but has been hesitant to urinate in the pot. I was wondering what happened and how I could change it when I remembered something from Infant potty training : a gentle and primeval method adapted to modern living. Many of the photos in the book of people of color using elimination communication had the child lying back in the parent’s arms while the parent held the child’s legs. Hmmmm …

A new position to try elimination communication.

A new position to try elimination communication.

I decided to try that position and sure enough … he relaxed into my arms and urinated! I’ve been doing it for a few days now and he seems to like it.

What positions do you use?

 

Leave a Reply

