Thrift Store Rocking Chair for Child

Rocking-Chair-Before-After-WatermarkAs you know, I love diy projects (see here and here). When I saw this cute little dirty, stickered rocking chair I knew that I had found my next project.

Before

Before

I had to get those stickers off.

I had to get those stickers off.

I put some vinegar on a power towel and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

I put some vinegar on a power towel and let it sit for about 10 minutes.

It worked like gangbusters! The stickers just came off with a wipe.

It worked like gangbusters! The stickers just came off with a wipe.

There was a little more adhesive so I wiped the rocking chair down with Goo Gone.

There was a little more adhesive so I wiped the rocking chair down with Goo Gone.

I didn't like the color and I wanted the name and marker gone so I decided to spray paint it a different color.

I didn’t like the color and I wanted the name and marker gone so I decided to spray paint it a different color.

A few layers of glassy brown spray paint.

A few layers of glassy brown spray paint.

I went a little crazy with the spray paint, but there are lots of little bits that I had to reach. Lol

I went a little crazy with the spray paint, but there are lots of little bits that I had to reach. Lol

Ta da! All finished with a cute little pillow that I made. I'm thinking of making a larger pillow and perhaps adding his name.

Ta da! All finished with a cute little pillow that I made. I’m thinking of making a larger pillow and perhaps adding his name.

The chair was $5. The spray paint was $4 at a big-box home improvement store. I used glossy brown paint. Not too shabby for $9 and an afternoon.

What do you think?

 

2 thoughts on “Thrift Store Rocking Chair for Child

    • Thank you! We have a high chair that we’d like to do as well. I looking at Pintrest getting all of these ideas! Since we run a speaking business we’re home a lot so I have tons of free time to do my projects. Unfortunately, I have like ….. two project halfway done downstairs and two more projects on deck! Lol

Leave a Reply

