Orgullosamente Afrodescendiente

AfrodescendienteWhen I was small, my mother taught me to tell people that asked that I was Black and Mexican. I didn’t know what it meant, but I knew my mother was serious. She reminded me repeatedly.

As I got older the questions became more invasive and I understood why my mother was so adamant about my responses. My father is a Mexican-American. My mother is a Black American. I am half and half. Denying one or the other would wound me emotionally and dishonor my family.

When I travel to Spanish-speaking countries I usually come across Black people. People that have lived in that Spanish-speaking country for generations, but are still looked at strangely. There is a difference between being an Afro-Latino and being Black and Latino.

I have not grown up with Black family members in a Spanish-speaking country. I have not grown up in any Latino culture. I have grown up in America with two separate groups of family members doing completely different things. I am neither just Black nor just Mexicana. I am a new thing as old as time. I am Black AND Mexican.

Leave a Reply

