He Ate Food! (Butternut Squash Recipe)

I made this baked butternut squash with olive oil and Himalayan pink salt as his first food.

I made this baked butternut squash with olive oil and Himalayan pink salt as his first food.

OMG!

The baby ate food today! He didn’t want his milk and he didn’t want his water. I couldn’t figure out what was going ….  so I thought that I’d try to give him a bit of the butternut squash that I made for him (Yum! Homemade first food!). Originally, I thought that I would bake it, puree it, freeze it and start him on solids in a few weeks. He had other plans.

I heard that when babies eat their first food, they eat a few spoonfuls and leave it at that. I scooped out two little scoops of sqaush thinking that he would have a few nibbles and I would eat the rest (don’t judge me! Lol). After the first bite, he was hooked. He ate almost the entire plate by himself and I didn’t get any.

I am so proud that he enjoyed it that I figured that I’d share the recipe below:

Cut the butternut squash in half. It's more difficult than I thought that it would be, but I wrestled it into thirds.

Cut the butternut squash in half. It’s more difficult than I thought that it would be, but I wrestled it into thirds.

 

I put olive oil and Himalayan pink salt on it.

I put olive oil and Himalayan pink salt on it.

I put the cut thirds into the backing pan with the cut sides up and cooked for 45 minutes at 425 degrees.

I put the cut thirds into the backing pan with the cut sides up and cooked for 45 minutes at 425 degrees.

I cooked it until I saw that the outside skin was puckered.

I cooked it until I saw that the outside skin was puckered.

I want to mash it up and put it into ice cube trays to use for later, but life interrupted. I’ll have to do it in a bit. For now, I scooped out two hunks, put ’em on a plate, mashed ’em up and feed ’em to the baby. He ate most of it and then washed it all down with some formula. Ahhhhh … the lunch of champions!  =)

He loved it.

He loved it.

 

Leave a Reply

