Non-Religious Meal Starters

Family-Saying-GraceI really like the idea of starting a meal by acknowledging how it got in front of us and being appreciative of that however I don’t pray before meals because I don’t pray. I rarely see things that interest me about ways to begin a family meal, but this article on secular grace caught my eye. The author offers a few ideas of secular meal starters (grace). This one is my favorite:

We are so grateful for this food,
it restores our strength,
it heals our bodies,
it fuels our brains.

We are so grateful for this time,
to renew our spirit,
to share our trials,
to find new strength.

 

I would change “grateful” to “appreciative” but other than that, I LOVE this! Atheists, agnostics and other non-religious folks what, if anything, do you say before you eat?

Leave a Reply

