“Didn’t Know You Married a Zulu Warrior”: When South African Tourism Goes Wrong

White chiefs in Ghana ....  now white Zulus?

White chiefs in Ghana …. now white Zulus?

I’m in Chicago listening to a classic rock station and every few hours I hear a commercial to promote South African tourism that makes me shake my head. The commercial wasn’t making me want to travel to South Africa anyway, but then I hear:

VERY WHITE SOUNDING MAN: You know, you really impressed me when you joined the Soweto Street Party and learned the latest local dances.
VERY WHITE SOUNDING WOMAN: You weren’t so bad yourself. I didn’t know you had moves like that.
VERY WHITE SOUNDING MAN: You didn’t know you married a Zulu Warrior, did you?
BOTH: HA HA HA HA HA!

 

I wanted to know more so I Googled the commercial and found this great post about it from a few years ago. It turns out that this commercial was made on the show The Apprentice. I copied the transcript from a post that lays out the problem more clearly than I can. Read the post here. Ugh ….

Leave a Reply

