Sewing a Hoodie for a 12 Month Kid

I have been looking for a hoodie for the baby for about three months now. I always see the zip up kind, but I really want the pull-over kind. You know what you have to do when you want something you can’t find in stores, or are too cheap to pay for, you make it!

I went out into the wild, wild internet and found two patterns that might work. Both are free patterns on the internet, so be warned, but it doesn’t seem that difficult to make and both sites have tons of other creations for babies, infants, kids, toddlers, etc.

Bohemian

Bohemian style hoodie for kids.

Bohemian style hoodie for kids.

I like the color of the bohemian hoodie thought I’ll probably do a solid black. I also like that it seems easy to make. Since there is no ribbed fabric around the wrists and waist it could fall over baby’s pants quite easily and look pulled-together over almost any shirt.

Traditional

Traditional style hoodie for kids.

Traditional style hoodie for kids.

I like the style of the traditional hoodie (no deep v neckline and there is a pocket on the front) though this designer chose to add some very nontraditional details that I will omit (piping at the seams and different colored material for ribbed fabric around the wrists and waist) when I make it.

I’m hoping to create something in the middle … or perhaps I’ll make both. Next week I only have to work one day, so perhaps I’ll head on over the grand’s home and borrow the sewing machine. It’s summertime … this kid needs a hoodie! Lol  #CaliLife

Click on either photo to download the free kid’s hoodie pattern. I found both patterns on this mega list of free sewing patterns for kids.

One thought on “Sewing a Hoodie for a 12 Month Kid

Leave a Reply

