Missing My Mom Today

It all started with me wanting to have the kid song Apples and Bananas for my baby. I’m loading up on songs and videos for the long flights ahead of us and Apples and Bananas is one of my favorites. As I looked at different versions I was reminded of being a kid myself and watching Rafi.

I clicked on the Rafi version of Apples and Bananas and my son crawled into my lap. We watched and sang and  …  it reminded me of doing the same thing as a kid with my mom. She’s been dead since I was about 20 years old and I don’t think of her every day, but when I do …  it’s something small that she would do or say that brings up my longing for her as if she died last week.

I miss my mom.

Leave a Reply

