DIY No Sew Chef’s Hat for Toddler

Hat-Chef-No-Sew-DIY

Since I’m all worked up about the possibility of adding a little one to our family o three, I decided that we’d better get busy and practice making a Welcome Home cake. Then I thought, “I may as well invite the toddler to lend me a hand”. If he was gonna help, he’d need a proper uniform. This is the tutorial for how to make a diy no sew chef’s hat for your toddler.

Materials:

One laptop

One printer

One sheet of 8.5 x 11 paper

One sheet of scrapbooking paper

One bottle of glue

Two sheets of gift wrapping paper

 

STEP 1

If you don’t want words on your hat, skip this step.

The first thing I did was decide that I wanted to put words on the hat. I hadn’t seen one like it but I liked the idea of adding “Big Brother” to the brim. I opened Fireworks and got the sizing and font that I liked and saved it. Then I opened up Word and added the image to the blank page. I turned it sideways to make sure that it would go across the longest edge.

IMG_2016-05-15_15-18-55

I just cut off the edge of the paper and glued it to the scrapbooking paper.

I actually think I made it a big too big. I’d probably make it smaller if I was to do it again. Anyhoo …

Once the words were attached to the scrapbooking paper, I cut the scarpbooking paper to give me a strip. Then I cut another strip and glued it to the first strip to give me one long strip. Let it dry for a few minutes.

Step 2

Take your two sheets of gift wrapping paper (the kind you put inside the gift) and fold them accordion style, together. This will make the puffy, top of the hat.

IMG_2016-05-15_15-25-41

I trimmed mine about 2 inches because it was too high and looked a bit strange.

It seemed a bit high as I have a small toddler, so I trimmed the paper about 2 inches.My partner liked it tall and thought I was a little bit crazy . Lol

Step 3

Now that you’re long strip (the brim) is dry, flip the long strip over and get ready to glue the accordion gift wrapping paper to the edge.

IMG_2016-05-15_15-21-35

I started out gluing very methodically ….

IMG_2016-05-15_15-22-53

 .. and ended up just lying a line and sticking it on. Lol

 

Step 4

Once you have one edge of the gift wrapping paper glued on the long strip, you need to fold the gift wrapping in half (do not crease …  unless that’s the look you’re going for) to get the other side glued to the other half of the long strip.

IMG_2016-05-15_17-25-41

A diy no sew chef’s hat for your toddler!

Once it’s glued to both sides, you’ll have a hat with two open sides. You can wrangle the sides closed if you like but it wasn’t noticeable so I didn’t worry about it.

There you have it, a no sew, DIY paper chef’s hat for a toddler.

 

2 thoughts on “DIY No Sew Chef’s Hat for Toddler

Leave a Reply

