Felt Campfire Set for the Great American Camp Out

IMG_2016-06-24_11-51-03

The felt campfire I made.

As you know, tomorrow is the Great American Camp Out. I was so excited about it, that I encouraged a play group that I’m part of to host a toddler camp out for our little ones.

Land-of-Nod-the-smore-the-merrier-campfire-set

Felt campfire set from Land of Nod, $70.

I’ve been drooling over this felt campfire set from Land of Nod but not drooling over the price. What’s a DIYer to do? Make one of course!

Half of the job was already done because I had stuffing and grey felt leftover from other projects. I bought red, orange, and yellow felt from JoAnn’s and some brown broadcloth that I thought resembled wood.

For some reason I couldn’t get my bobbin to catch the thread, so I spent a few hours sewing everything by hand. I started off by sewing the flames together.

IMG_2016-06-23_15-50-39

I started bottom to the top.

IMG_2016-06-23_15-46-59

One “sheet” of flames.

Once I had two separate sheets of flames, I turned them flame-side together and stitched it up.

IMG_2016-06-23_16-12-47

Flames should be touching each other.

Once I had everything stitched together, I stuffed the fluff inside and sewed a bit of red felt on the bottom to close it up. I also made 6 grey felt rocks and 4 wooden logs.

IMG_2016-06-23_22-57-39

Don’t mind the bag from the fluff. Lol

It only took a few hours and it came our pretty good. If I was going to do it again I’d:

  • Stay truer to the Land of Nod image. They had two small flames and the pieces were made of broadcloth, not felt.
  • Make the rocks lighter grey.
  • Create a little bag to keep everything in. I took it to the camp out in a trash bag and, of course, someone used it for trash so I had to throw all the pieces in the trunk without any covering.

Anyhoo, it’s not perfect but I’m happy with it. $15 instead of $70 always works in my household.

Happy DIYing!

 

Leave a Reply

